Publisher: HarperCollins


Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Posted June 15, 2017 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba KarimThat Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim
Published by HarperCollins on May 9th 2017
Genres: Assimilation, Coming of Age, Friendship, Social Themes, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: ARC
Rating: four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.

*Review originally posted at YABC: http://www.yabookscentral.com/yafiction/21288-that-thing-we-call-a-heart*

Shabnam Qureshi is done with high school, ready to move on to college, and start a new chapter in her life. Her final high school weeks are filled with slip ups, mistakes, and lies, and Shabnam is ready to get away from it all. When she finds a job at a pie shack for the summer, everything changes. Shabnam meets Jamie, a cute boy who seems fascinated by her, and the two bond over poetry. However, Shabnam’s best friend, Farah, whom Shabnam has felt awkward around since Farah started wearing a headscarf, is suspicious about Jamie. As the summer unfolds, Shabnam will learn more about herself, love, friendship, and family.

THAT THING WE CALL A HEART is a beautifully emotional story that tackles stereotypes, first love, cultural norms, and more. Sheba Karim creates an easily relatable protagonist in Shabnam, a young woman who wants to fit in. What I love most about this novel is that it focuses on more than romantic matters of the heart. It delves into romantic love, friendship love, family love, and self-love.

I also love that Jamie isn’t a glaringly suspicious guy. His charm and attention makes it easy to see why someone could get a pretty big crush quickly. Yet, as Shabnam continues her journey, readers will see hints of something a little more selfish in him and the ways in which first love can create rose-tinted glasses. But most of all, Shabnam and Farah’s relationship is nuanced and complex, full of tense moments, heartfelt conversations, and a multifaceted exploration of what it means to be a true friend.

Overall, THAT THING WE CALL A HEART will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.

Samantha

Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Posted June 2, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Hi all! If you haven’t heard, Read Diverse Books has created a feature called Read Diverse Books Year-Round, which encourages “all book bloggers to read at least one book that falls under one of the following categories every month: 1) A book by and about a person of color, 2) A book by or about a […]

Read More

Review: What the Dead Want by Norah Olson

Posted May 19, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 5 Comments
Review: What the Dead Want by Norah Olson

When Gretchen receives a phone call saying she’s to inherit an old mansion from a great-aunt, she is more than a little unsure. Her mother’s disappearance years ago made her think she would never hear anything more from that part of her family, but now she is being sent knee deep into the mystery of […]

Read More

Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Posted February 11, 2016 by Sabrina in Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews / 2 Comments
Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

  Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | GoodreadsReviewShort and Sweet:The Girl from Everywhere is such a gorgeous adventure! I’m so in love with this story and can’t wait to see what Heidi Heilig does next! The sequel is definitely one of my most anticipated 2017 releases! To Elaborate…First of all, this story takes place on a time traveling pirate ship […]

Read More

Review: Banished by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Posted February 8, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Banished by Kimberley Griffiths Little

ReviewJayden’s heart was nearly torn apart when she thought her beloved, Kadesh, was dead. After months of hard traveling and almost lost hope, she is reunited with him again only to discover the danger she was running from is closer than she ever imagined. Together, she and her prince must fight together to overcome familiar […]

Read More

Review: Ravenous by Marcy Kate Connolly

Posted February 4, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 3 Comments
Review: Ravenous by Marcy Kate Connolly

ReviewWhen Greta’s little brother is kidnapped by a witch whose hut has chicken feet, Greta must find a mysterious magical item to save the only family she has left. Unfortunately, locating such an item requires going back to the place Greta has her worst memories- the kingdom of Belladoma. She must face her own fears […]

Read More

Review: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

Posted February 2, 2016 by Sabrina in Reviews / 9 Comments
Review: Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

ReviewShort and Sweet:There are no words for how much I love this book. Okay, there are words, but this review can be summed up by saying THIS BOOK is already one of my 2016 favorites. It is literally the oddest little story, with characters so full of ‘character’ that they feel real. Why aren’t they […]

Read More

Review: Front Lines by Michael Grant

Posted January 12, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Front Lines by Michael Grant

ReviewShort and Sweet:I don’t think I’ve read anything from Michael Grant that I didn’t love, and this book is no exception.To Elaborate…In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the young women who sign up are Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman, all […]

Read More

Review: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Posted January 7, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 6 Comments
Review: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

ReviewWhen Breezy wakes up, it isn’t from a normal night’s sleep. Instead, she wakes up from the ground, after a year of being dead, and the first thing she does is touch a man and unexpectedly kills him. Not knowing what has happened to her, she wanders and struggles to piece together her previous life […]

Read More

Review: Thicker Than Water by Kelly Fiore

Posted December 21, 2015 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 2 Comments
Review: Thicker Than Water by Kelly Fiore

ReviewCecelia “CeCe” Price used to blend in at her school. Then, she became a drug dealer after watching her brother get hooked on pain medication. When CeCe’s brother dies, and the district attorney is convinced she is his murderer. Now, Cece is in a juvenile treatment facility awaiting the court case that will determine the […]

Read More