Genre: Young Adult Fiction


Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Posted June 15, 2017 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba KarimThat Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim
Published by HarperCollins on May 9th 2017
Genres: Assimilation, Coming of Age, Friendship, Social Themes, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: ARC
Rating: four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.

*Review originally posted at YABC: http://www.yabookscentral.com/yafiction/21288-that-thing-we-call-a-heart*

Shabnam Qureshi is done with high school, ready to move on to college, and start a new chapter in her life. Her final high school weeks are filled with slip ups, mistakes, and lies, and Shabnam is ready to get away from it all. When she finds a job at a pie shack for the summer, everything changes. Shabnam meets Jamie, a cute boy who seems fascinated by her, and the two bond over poetry. However, Shabnam’s best friend, Farah, whom Shabnam has felt awkward around since Farah started wearing a headscarf, is suspicious about Jamie. As the summer unfolds, Shabnam will learn more about herself, love, friendship, and family.

THAT THING WE CALL A HEART is a beautifully emotional story that tackles stereotypes, first love, cultural norms, and more. Sheba Karim creates an easily relatable protagonist in Shabnam, a young woman who wants to fit in. What I love most about this novel is that it focuses on more than romantic matters of the heart. It delves into romantic love, friendship love, family love, and self-love.

I also love that Jamie isn’t a glaringly suspicious guy. His charm and attention makes it easy to see why someone could get a pretty big crush quickly. Yet, as Shabnam continues her journey, readers will see hints of something a little more selfish in him and the ways in which first love can create rose-tinted glasses. But most of all, Shabnam and Farah’s relationship is nuanced and complex, full of tense moments, heartfelt conversations, and a multifaceted exploration of what it means to be a true friend.

Overall, THAT THING WE CALL A HEART will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.

Samantha

Review: Serpentine by Cindy Pon

Posted January 9, 2017 by Samantha in Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: Serpentine by Cindy Pon

ReviewIn the Kingdom of Xia, Skybright is a handmaid to Zhen Ni, the youngest daughter of a wealthy family. Skybright grew up alongside Zhen Ni, and the two are as close as sisters. When Skybright is 16, she changes in a way she can’t even tell her best friend about; at night, she becomes part […]

Read More

Blog Tour: Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

Posted September 20, 2016 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Blog Tour: Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

Hi everyone! Welcome to my stop on the PASADENA blog tour!ReviewPrior to starting Pasadena, people had been comparing it to Veronica Mars, and I absolutely agree. If you love the noir, dirty underbelly side to mystery shows, Pasadena is exactly what you need. The story opens with Maggie’s death which the authorities rule a suicide, […]

Read More

Review: This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

Posted August 19, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 6 Comments
Review: This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

This review is for a feature that Read Diverse Books has going, called Read Diverse Books Year Round. The goal is to read and review books from marginalized voices, #ownvoices, etc., which can include themes such as race, LGBTQA+, and disabilities. If you want to join in on this feature, check out the Read Diverse […]

Read More

Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Posted June 2, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Hi all! If you haven’t heard, Read Diverse Books has created a feature called Read Diverse Books Year-Round, which encourages “all book bloggers to read at least one book that falls under one of the following categories every month: 1) A book by and about a person of color, 2) A book by or about a […]

Read More

Review: What the Dead Want by Norah Olson

Posted May 19, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 5 Comments
Review: What the Dead Want by Norah Olson

When Gretchen receives a phone call saying she’s to inherit an old mansion from a great-aunt, she is more than a little unsure. Her mother’s disappearance years ago made her think she would never hear anything more from that part of her family, but now she is being sent knee deep into the mystery of […]

Read More