Genre: Friendship


Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

Posted June 15, 2017 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Review: That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba KarimThat Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim
Published by HarperCollins on May 9th 2017
Genres: Assimilation, Coming of Age, Friendship, Social Themes, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: ARC
Rating: four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan.Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt’s pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place—her family, and her father’s beloved Urdu poetry.That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love—in all its forms.

*Review originally posted at YABC: http://www.yabookscentral.com/yafiction/21288-that-thing-we-call-a-heart*

Shabnam Qureshi is done with high school, ready to move on to college, and start a new chapter in her life. Her final high school weeks are filled with slip ups, mistakes, and lies, and Shabnam is ready to get away from it all. When she finds a job at a pie shack for the summer, everything changes. Shabnam meets Jamie, a cute boy who seems fascinated by her, and the two bond over poetry. However, Shabnam’s best friend, Farah, whom Shabnam has felt awkward around since Farah started wearing a headscarf, is suspicious about Jamie. As the summer unfolds, Shabnam will learn more about herself, love, friendship, and family.

THAT THING WE CALL A HEART is a beautifully emotional story that tackles stereotypes, first love, cultural norms, and more. Sheba Karim creates an easily relatable protagonist in Shabnam, a young woman who wants to fit in. What I love most about this novel is that it focuses on more than romantic matters of the heart. It delves into romantic love, friendship love, family love, and self-love.

I also love that Jamie isn’t a glaringly suspicious guy. His charm and attention makes it easy to see why someone could get a pretty big crush quickly. Yet, as Shabnam continues her journey, readers will see hints of something a little more selfish in him and the ways in which first love can create rose-tinted glasses. But most of all, Shabnam and Farah’s relationship is nuanced and complex, full of tense moments, heartfelt conversations, and a multifaceted exploration of what it means to be a true friend.

Overall, THAT THING WE CALL A HEART will have you laughing and crying in equal measure.

Samantha

Review: Wish by Barbara O’Connor

Posted October 24, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Wish by Barbara O’Connor

ReviewCharlie Reese has been making wishes since the fourth grade- or rather, she’s been making the same wish since then. After being sent to live with unfamiliar relatives far away from the city, she doesn’t think her wish will ever come true. As she befriends a boy named Howard, a dog named Wishbone, and gets […]

Read More

Review: Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu

Posted September 27, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Afterward by Jennifer Mathieu

ReviewWhen Caroline’s autistic little brother, Dylan, is rescued from a kidnapper after a few days, the police also find, Ethan, a teen who has been held captive for four years. Now that both of them are back, and in the same neighborhood, both families are dealing with the new changes. Caroline wants to know what […]

Read More

Blog Tour: Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

Posted September 20, 2016 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Blog Tour: Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith

Hi everyone! Welcome to my stop on the PASADENA blog tour!ReviewPrior to starting Pasadena, people had been comparing it to Veronica Mars, and I absolutely agree. If you love the noir, dirty underbelly side to mystery shows, Pasadena is exactly what you need. The story opens with Maggie’s death which the authorities rule a suicide, […]

Read More

Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Posted June 2, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Hi all! If you haven’t heard, Read Diverse Books has created a feature called Read Diverse Books Year-Round, which encourages “all book bloggers to read at least one book that falls under one of the following categories every month: 1) A book by and about a person of color, 2) A book by or about a […]

Read More

Review: Front Lines by Michael Grant

Posted January 12, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 0 Comments
Review: Front Lines by Michael Grant

ReviewShort and Sweet:I don’t think I’ve read anything from Michael Grant that I didn’t love, and this book is no exception.To Elaborate…In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the young women who sign up are Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman, all […]

Read More

Review: George by Alex Gino

Posted December 15, 2015 by Samantha in Reviews / 1 Comment
Review: George by Alex Gino

Short and Sweet Review:George is not George; she is actually Melissa, a girl the world sees as a young boy named George. When her class prepares to perform the play version of Charlotte’s Web, Melissa wants nothing more than to play Charlotte. When she audiences, her teacher thinks its a joke, and Melissa tries to […]

Read More

Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Posted September 16, 2015 by Sabrina in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

ReviewShort and Sweet:Maddy and Olly are one of my favorite YA couples this year and Everything, Everything is just one of those books you want to hug when you’re all done because it is such a lovely read.To Elaborate…Maddy is allergic to almost everything, so her life is a fairly confined one. Her mother has […]

Read More