Blog Tour Review: How to Hang a Witch

Posted June 30, 2016 by Sabrina in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

hangawitchblogtourbanner

Blog Tour Review: How to Hang a WitchHow to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on July 26, 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Historical, Horror & Ghost Stories, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: ARC (borrowed from a friend)
ISBN: 9780553539479
Rating: four-starsfour-starsfour-starsfour-stars

For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

 

Review

Short and Sweet:

How to Hang a Witch is a haunting and atmospheric read. A perfect story for Halloween and for fans of The Craft and Hocus Pocus who can’t read enough about the Salem Witch Trials. I was thoroughly engrossed from page one and often surprised by the twists and turns the story took!

To Elaborate…

Stories about witches are among my favorite book tropes, so as soon as I heard about How to Hang a Witch I knew I had to get my hands on it. The story begins with Samantha Mather moving to Salem from New York City to live in her father’s ‘family house.’  Sam isn’t thrilled with the move to begin with, but is even less happy when she realizes that her ancestry immediately puts her at odds with a group of teens who call themselves the ‘Descendants.’ The Descendants are, as their name suggests, descendants of the witches tried and hung during the Salem Witch Trials. Sam, on the other hand, is a descendant of Cotton Mather, who was unfortunately one of the men to blame for the Trials. And in Salem, your ancestry matters. A lot.

Initially, it seems like she has simply encountered a group of mean girls hung up on history, in a town still obsessed with the Trials. However, soon strange things begin happening. And most of them are somehow tied to her. Sam isn’t sure if she’s cursed, or if Salem is, but the urgency to discover why people are getting hurt around her intensifies as descendants of key players in the Trials begin to mysteriously die. With the help of her neighbor Jaxon, and an attractive, old-fashioned ghost named Elijah, Sam begins researching her family history, the Trials, and Salem’s mysterious cycles of oddities and death. Consequently, the more she discovers, the more ominous and dire the situation becomes.

Final Thoughts

Full of secrets, hidden rooms, seances, ghosts, and a little romance, How to Hang a Witch is a deliciously wicked tale full of history and magic. Adriana Mather crafts a story that will manage to surprise you, even when you think you’ve got it all figured out, with an ending that will leave you emotional, yet satisfied.  Highly recommend!

 

About the Author:

authorinfoam

Adriana Mather is the 14th generation of Mathers in America, with family roots stretching back to the first Thanksgiving, the Salem Witch Trials, the Revolutionary War, and the Titanic. Adriana co-owns Zombot Pictures, a production company that makes feature films.  In addition to producing, Adriana is also an actress. She lives in Los Angeles where she has a life full of awesome, cats, and coffee.

Find Adriana Online:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Sabrina

WOW: Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Posted June 29, 2016 by Samantha in Uncategorized / 2 Comments
WOW: Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine.This week I’m really excited for Girl in Pieces! Based on the synopsis, I think Charlotte and I have a lot in common emotionally, so I’m thinking this will be a good one.“Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in […]

Read More

Top Ten Tuesday: Books Without Romance

Posted June 28, 2016 by Samantha in Top Ten Tuesday / 9 Comments
Top Ten Tuesday: Books Without Romance

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie week, so I decided to do top ten books without romance (or, rather, little to no romance)! I have absolutely nothing against a good love story, and I read tons of romance books, but sometimes it feels like it’s […]

Read More

WOW: Recreated by Colleen Houck

Posted June 22, 2016 by Samantha in Waiting On Wednesday / 3 Comments
WOW: Recreated by Colleen Houck

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine.This week I’m eagerly waiting on Recreated by Colleen Houck! The first book in this series blew me away, and this sequel sounds just as good. Lots of myth and swoons!“From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of The Tiger’s Curse, comes Recreated, the second book in […]

Read More

WOW: Vicarious by Paula Stokes

Posted June 15, 2016 by Samantha in Waiting On Wednesday / 7 Comments
WOW: Vicarious by Paula Stokes

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine .This week I’m waiting on Vicarious by Paula Stokes! I love her writing, and I can’t wait to see what she does with this one.“Winter Kim and her sister, Rose, have always been inseparable. Together, the two of them survived growing up in a Korean orphanage and […]

Read More

Review: Bayou Magic by Jewell Parker Rhodes

Posted June 13, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 6 Comments
Review: Bayou Magic by Jewell Parker Rhodes

This review is for a feature that Read Diverse Books has going, called Read Diverse Books Year Round. The goal is to read and review books from marginalized voices, #ownvoices, etc., which can include themes such as race, LGBTQA+, and disabilities. If you want to join in on this feature, check out the Read Diverse […]

Read More

Review: Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetani

Posted June 7, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 2 Comments
Review: Ink and Ashes by Valynne E. Maetani

Hi all! This review is for a feature that Read Diverse Books has going, called Read Diverse Books Year Round. The goal is to read and review books from marginalized voices, #ownvoices, etc., which can include themes such as race, LGBTQ+, and disabilities. Last time, I reviewed Paula Stokes’s GIRL AGAINST THE UNIVERSE, which focuses […]

Read More

Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Posted June 2, 2016 by Samantha in Reviews / 4 Comments
Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Hi all! If you haven’t heard, Read Diverse Books has created a feature called Read Diverse Books Year-Round, which encourages “all book bloggers to read at least one book that falls under one of the following categories every month: 1) A book by and about a person of color, 2) A book by or about a […]

Read More